Sewing&reaping

Moved

Posted on: August 3, 2012

Oh my my my. Today was a wee bit epic. Is that actual even possible? Cancels itself out? Anyway. Today was intense. SO HOT. I’m talking beading back sweat hot. Ewww.
But, I’m in my new apartment now 🙂 moving in is done.
I learned some lessons:
1) Do everything, anything you can to get the baby somewhere else, somewhere that isn’t the house, while you pack.
Packing with a baby is a whole new world. I would usually have 1 or 2 baby free hours after work, but I had alot of paperwork I needed to do leading up to the move. And then darling baby changed to a temporary daycare situation near the new apartment so I had to pick her up & take her home with me. IE, I had no baby free time. Until today. So our friends rock up to help us move & I’m doing the last chunk of the packing. Felt like an unprepared idiot.
2) Pack a special overnight bag for baby.
I was running around like a headless chicken tonight trying to figure out which box the diapers where in. I kept her drink bottle handy but that was as far as my brain took me. And I also realised I hadn’t planned her dinner, so she ate pizza (our treat for our helpers) for dinner. I’m a super responsible mum uh huh?
3) There is a right way to tape up boxes.
The thought had actually crossed my mind as I was layering tape in each & every direction on the bottom of the boxes. Which also explains how we went through 8? rolls of tape. Jared taped up one box & without even knowing about my tape-aggedon method told me that he was doing the pro method & he should know coz he has a book about taping. True story, he worked for a technical stuff company, had to transport stuff & yeah. So the right way? Little flaps in, big flaps on the top, one line of tape down their joint & then one line at both edges of the box. Done. Simple.
4) Pack yourself an overnight bag.
Shower time? What shower time? Towels? Hahaha. It’s treasure hunting time more like it. You wanna brush your teeth? Teeth? Who needs them.

You know what, I should be a professional packer or something. I lived in the same town for like 3 years & in that time my family moved house 10 times. In Japan we moved to 4 diff places in the first 2years. And have been in the last place almost 4yrs. So I guess I lost my packing edge. And we started out there with nothing & slowly accumulated. So it’s my first time packing some of this stuff. Give me a break :p

Leave a comment


  • None
  • Origamiliving (@origamiliving): You have been a busy busy bee! 100y store stuff is the best to play around with - if things don't work out (often for me) it's no huge loss :) Love th
  • Origamiliving (@origamiliving): Definitely love the more dramatic ends!! Can't wait to see it!
  • Bethus: I like the finished result. Amazing job considering you did it yourself! If i tried that myself my hair would break off or it would be bright orange a

Categories